Foundation Awards 2024 Scholarships

May 31, 2024

Community Giving Foundation is pleased to announce scholarship awards for local students across the region. These opportunities are available thanks to the many individuals, families, and organizations who have established 133 scholarship funds with the Foundation. Applications for a variety of interests, accomplishments, and career choices were accepted from students at their school districts. This year, Foundation scholarship funds awarded over $481,000 in scholarships to more than 280 high school seniors and current undergraduate students. In addition to funds listed below, scholarship awards were also provided through the following affiliates:

The Foundation was thrilled to welcome over 250 guests to its inaugural scholarship luncheon on May 30th at The Barn at Frosty Valley. During the event, students connected with the donors, board members, and other Foundation partners who make these awards possible. Remarks were shared by Kara Seesholtz, Foundation President & CEO, and Danville fundholder Lindsey Curry Goldberg. The Foundation is honored to play a small part in building up the next generation of community leaders through these scholarship opportunities for local students.

Community Giving Foundation Scholarship Funds

  • Alumni & Friends of Mifflinburg Area SD: Dorothy St. John Gutelius Memorial Scholarship Fund: Laine Elizabeth Martin ($2,000)
  • Buehner DHS Class of 2004 Fund: Alivia Hosterman ($1,500)
  • Catholic War Veterans Post 1419 Association Scholarship Fund: Grayson Kupsky ($500); Willow Sieko ($500)
  • E. Louise Lawton Simington RN Nursing Scholarship Fund: Haley Moore ($2,200)
  • Ernest Harold Bogert Science Scholarship Fund: Katerine Geffken ($1,100)
  • George and Barbara Forese Family Scholarship Fund: Sam Meloy ($500)
  • Joan M. Miller/Dancing Hen Farm Scholarship Fund: Amber Hughes ($500)
  • Joshua Martz Scholarship Fund: Rowan Peterson ($600)
  • Kirk R. Bower Scholarship Fund: Tabitha Barto ($1,000)
  • Marian Eleanor Weikel Scholarship Fund: Jayden McKeen ($25,000)
  • Melba Hyde Scholarship Fund: Benton High School ($900)
  • Northumberland High School Alumni Association Scholarship Fund: Shikellamy High School ($2,700)
  • Orlando C. Scopelliti Scholarship Fund: Lillian Rees ($600)
  • R. Scott Kohler Memorial Scholarship Fund: Garrett Garcia ($4,700)
  • Robert Baillie Memorial Scholarship Fund: Cassandra McGinley ($1,000); Alyssa Shuman ($1,000)
  • Robert W. Buehner, Jr. and Robin Buehner Kindness Scholarship Fund: Brooklyn Amarose ($3,100)
  • Six County Fireman’s Association Mark Coons Memorial Scholarship Fund: Stephanie Alexander ($800); Laura Mausteller ($800)
  • Steve Anoia Memorial Scholarship Fund: Hannah Benedict ($500)
  • Walter M. Brasch Scholarship Fund: Amber Hughes ($250)
  • William P. Flaim Scholarship Fund: Elizabeth Goldheart ($7,100)
  • William S. and Virginia L. Hartman Family Scholarship Fund: Aurora Atkinson ($6,000)

Community Giving Foundation: Bloomsburg Scholarship Funds

  • BHS Class of ’86 Scholarship Fund: Adriana Howell ($500)
  • Bloomsburg Greek Alumni Scholarship Fund: Awarded at BU Homecoming, October 2024
  • Lynch Brothers Scholarship Fund: Brady McNamara ($1,500); Aiden Stine ($1,500)

Warrior Run School District Scholarship Funds

  • Bernice A. Bissell Scholarship Fund (Defender Pride Award): Elle Bowers ($2,000)
  • Bernice A. Bissell Scholarship Fund (Passions in Pathways Award): Connor Blackwell ($1,890); Liana Marie Dion ($1,890); Sienna Dunkleberger ($1,890); Judah Kennel ($1,890); Avery McCormick ($1,890); Ryan Newton ($1,890); Peyton Ranck ($1,890); Thomas Royles ($1,890); Alena Shaffer ($1,890); Cole Shupp ($1,890)
  • Dale E. Schooley Achievement Award: Tyler Roberts ($700)
  • Eiderson S. and Phyllis E. Biddle Scholarship Fund: Cadence Gardiner ($1,100)
  • H. William Koch Memorial Scholarship Fund: Aurora Cieslukowski ($1,500)
  • Jack Zeigler Memorial Scholarship Fund: Grant Welliver ($5,500)
  • John E. Corman Scholarship Fund: Kelsey Hoffman ($1,400); Aden Lewis ($1,400)
  • Katharine A. Swope Scholarship Fund: Elle Bowers ($2,350); Madeline Stoudt ($2,350)
  • Linda McNeal Scholarship Fund: Damian Brown ($400); Hailey Carper ($400)
  • Marlin K. Troutman Memorial Arts Award Fund: Warrior Run High School ($400)
  • Warrior Run School District Endowment Scholarship Fund (Leadership & Citizenship Award): Elle Bowers ($4,667); Leah Shaffer ($4,667)
  • Warrior Run School District Endowment Scholarship Fund (Outstanding Scholar Award): Alexis Hudson ($4,667); Aden Lewis ($4,667)
  • Warrior Run School District Endowment Scholarship Fund: Aurora Atkinson ($4,666); Gabrielle Staman ($4,667)

Community Giving Foundation manages over 365 charitable funds and makes grant investments throughout the region to improve and enrich local lives. For 25 years, the Foundation has helped families, individuals, and businesses create a lasting charitable legacy in the Central Susquehanna region. Learn more at