Danville Awards 2024 Scholarships

May 31, 2024

Community Giving Foundation: Danville is pleased to announce scholarship awards for local students. These opportunities are available thanks to the many individuals, families, and organizations who have established 44 scholarship funds with the Foundation. Applications for a variety of interests, accomplishments, and career choices were accepted from students in the Danville school district. These funds awarded over $151,000 in scholarships to 74 students.

The Foundation was thrilled to welcome over 250 guests to its inaugural scholarship luncheon on May 30th at The Barn at Frosty Valley. During the event, students connected with the donors, board members, and other Foundation partners who make these awards possible. Remarks were shared by Kara Seesholtz, Foundation President & CEO, and Danville fundholder Lindsey Curry Goldberg. The Foundation is honored to play a small part in building up the next generation of community leaders through these scholarship opportunities for local students.

Community Giving Foundation: Danville Scholarship Funds

  • Ackerman Family Scholarship Fund: Aaron Johnson ($2,000); Sam Meloy ($2,000); Gabriel Petrus ($2,000)
  • Amacher Family Fund in Memory of Mary L. Schick Frye: Calvin Wagner ($2,100)
  • Beverly J. Laubach Scholarship Fund in Memory of Betty L. Dietz: Emma Parker ($600)
  • Bloch-Selinger Educational Fund: Luke Friscia ($2,725, multi-year award); Lucy Pickle ($2,725, multi-year award); and $2,725 to six previous graduates
  • Carl J. Marrara Memorial Scholarship Fund: Hayden Winn ($1,000)
  • Cole Family Scholarship Fund: Isabella Gonsalez Jenkins ($3,400); Kareem Taher ($3,400)
  • Cotner Family Scholarship Fund: Tulip Wilk ($2,500)
  • Danville Education Association Scholarship Fund: Emily Chillis ($1,250); Aaron Johnson ($1,250)
  • Danville High School Class of 1939 Scholarship Fund: Dervinx Adorno ($3,450); Alivia Shen ($3,450)
  • Danville High School Class of 1943 Scholarship Fund: Gabriella Tuggle ($500)
  • Danville High School Class of 1963 Scholarship Fund: Gavin Fry ($600)
  • Danville Rotary Scholarship Fund: Brian Stoudt ($400)
  • Danville Unrestricted Scholarship in Memory of Eleanor Burke: Addelyn Palm ($1,000)
  • DASD Alumni Association Scholarship Fund: Aristotle Rock ($850); Tulip Wilk ($850)
  • DASD Band Boosters Scholarship Fund: Gage Hayes ($600); Amelia Smith ($600)
  • David L. Price Scholarship Fund: Alaina Soza ($1,000)
  • Deutsch Family Memorial Scholarship Fund: Hannah Bartholomew ($2,100)
  • Donald J. Seebold Scholarship Fund: Clare Charlton ($2,950); Isabella Gonsalez Jenkins ($2,950)
  • Eister Janssen Scholarship Fund: Luke Huron ($2,800)
  • Gerald J. Levandoski Memorial Scholarship Fund: Gage Hayes ($1,300)
  • Jack and Gladys Magill Family Scholarship Fund: Alaina Soza ($1,400)
  • Jack Curry Athletic Scholarship Fund: Owen Crane ($2,000)
  • Jane Hood Memorial Fund: Emily Chillis ($2,950); Lauren Weader ($2,950)
  • Jason Gordon Memorial Scholarship Fund: Luke Huron ($1,100); Reece McCarthy ($1,100)
  • Joan and Fred Miller Family Scholarship Fund: Henok Yohannes ($2,600)
  • Joanne McCall Spaid Simington and Paul Simington Scholarship Fund: Lilee Dorman ($3,000); Laine Martin ($3,000)
  • Kyle “Bucky” Kizis Memorial Scholarship Fund: Aaron Johnson ($1,300)
  • Lady Liberty Scholarship Fund: Jason Zheng (Class of 2022, $3,200 multi-year award)
  • Mackenzie E. Riley Memorial Scholarship Fund: Luke Huron ($500); Addelyn Palm ($500); and Blaire Balestrini ($500)
  • Mollie Harter Memorial Fund: Victoria Bartholomew ($1,000)
  • Rechsteiner Family Scholarship Fund: Catherine Inglis ($1,975, multi-year award); Dane Spahr ($1,975, multi-year award); and $1,975 to six previous graduates
  • Robert L. Gatski, MD and Betty E. Gatski Healthcare Profession Fund: Kiley Mitchell (Class of 2021, $6,000 multi-year award)
  • Ronald J. Kanaskie Leadership Scholarship Fund: Aaron Johnson ($1,000); Sam Meloy ($1,000)
  • Roscoe A. Faust and William C. Heller Family Scholarship Fund: Richard Weng ($6,400)
  • Royer Family Scholarship Fund: Jill Nied ($1,000)
  • Sandra O’Rourke Scholarship Fund: Alaina Soza ($2,000)
  • Stanley B. Gum Memorial Trucking Scholarship Fund: Grant Allbeck ($5,000)
  • Stephanie Husek Scholarship Fund: Western Pennsylvania Slovak Cultural Association ($3,000)
  • The Simington Family Scholarship Fund: Lane Berkey ($800); Mehak Kotru ($2,000); Alexis Snover ($2,000); Jera Strony ($2,000)
  • Valeria Walton Woods Memorial Scholarship Fund: Collin Cummins ($1,900); Amelai Smith ($1,900)
  • Victor and Linda Marks Health Career Scholarship Fund: Paedyn Peterson ($2,500)
  • Walter A. “Whitey” and Nan C. McCloskey Memorial Scholarship Fund: Grace Everett ($1,000)

Danville is an affiliate of the Community Giving Foundation, which manages over 365 charitable funds and makes grant investments throughout the region to improve and enrich local lives. For 25 years, the Foundation has helped families, individuals, and businesses create a lasting charitable legacy in the Central Susquehanna region. Learn more at csgiving.org/25-years.