Foundation Awards 2022 Scholarships

August 17, 2022

The Community Giving Foundation is pleased to announce scholarship awards for local students. These opportunities are available thanks to the many individuals, families, and organizations who have established 124 scholarship funds with the Foundation. Applications for a variety of interests, accomplishments, and career choices were accepted from students at their school district. Foundation scholarship funds awarded over $414,000 in scholarships to more than 285 high school seniors and current undergraduate students. In addition to funds listed below, scholarship awards were also provided through these affiliates:

The following students received scholarship awards from individual funds of the Community Giving Foundation:

  • Alumni and Friends of Mifflinburg Area SD: Dorothy S. John Gutelius Memorial Scholarship Fund: Claire Hayes ($5,000)
  • Alumni and Friends of Mifflinburg Area SD: Kathy E. Makes Memorial Scholarship Fund: Peyton Yocum ($2,000)
  • Buehner DHS Class of 2004 Fund: Brooke Millard ($1,000)
  • Catholic War Veterans Post 1419 Association Scholarship Fund: Brayden Boone ($500); Sara Cooper ($500)
  • Don Ruggerio Athletic Scholarship Fund: Jaida Geiser ($300)
  • Dr. Ronald L. Lehnowsky Scholarship Fund: Zander Switzer ($2,000)
  • Dwayne Tressler Athletic Memorial Scholarship Fund: Sarina DeFinnis ($250)
  • E. Louise Lawton Simington RN Nursing Scholarship Fund: Crystal Jones ($1,100); Meredith Lewis ($1,100)
  • George and Barbara Forese Family Scholarship Fund: Lauren Gillaspy ($500)
  • George E. Skomsky Athletic Scholarship Fund: Keanu Lopez ($1,100)
  • Holy Family Scholarship Fund: Emilee Andreas ($1,000); Sarina DeFinnis ($1,000); Sophia Guerriero ($1,000); Kelsey Pypiak ($1,000); Justin Walker ($1,000)
  • Justin “Pete” Slusser Scholarship Fund: Jeff Lin ($800)
  • Kyle Douthat Memorial Scholarship Fund: Olivia Gomez ($600)
  • Luis A. Ramos Fund: Graham Marshman ($800)
  • Marian Eleanor Weikel Scholarship Fund: Jayla Klase ($16,974)
  • Northumberland High School Alumni Association Scholarship Fund: Averi Dodge ($800); Serenity Koch ($1,300)
  • Orlando C. Scopelliti Scholarship Fund: Laura Frontz ($600)
  • Patrick J. Mattucci Memorial Scholarship Fund: Brendan Turowski ($500)
  • R. Scott Kohler Memorial Scholarship Fund: Joseph Quinton ($4,600)
  • Robert Baillie Memorial Scholarship Fund: Christina Vo ($1,000); Ken Zheng ($1,000)
  • Robert H. Nash Memorial Scholarship Fund: Olivia Gomez ($650); Piper Mensinger ($650)
  • Robert J. Wise Family Scholarship Fund: Kelsey Green ($933.33); Alina Gusick ($933.33); Gena Talanca ($933.33)
  • Robert W. Buehner, Jr. and Robin Buehner Kindness Scholarship Fund: Meredith Lewis ($1,500); Klarah Mikita ($1,500)
  • Ronald L. Garrison Memorial Scholarship Fund: Leighton Force ($300)
  • Sharon “Cheri” Spohrer Memorial Scholarship Fund: Arianna Schuckers ($700)
  • The Beyond Cajun Thivierge Fund: Maxwell Firth ($450); Olivia Gomez ($450)
  • The Mary Scholarship Fund: Miles Doll ($500); Olivia Gomez ($500); Logan Knorr ($500); Ean Magrone ($500); Rose Ostrowski ($500); Haylee Stenbacher ($500)
  • Steve Anoia Memorial Scholarship Fund: Amelia Chapman ($500)
  • William S. and Virginia L. Hartman Family Scholarship Fund: Kelsey Shrawder ($5,000)

Community Giving Foundation: Bloomsburg Funds

  • BHS Class of ’86 Scholarship Fund: Ahmed Elbeltagy ($500)
  • Lynch Brothers Scholarship Fund: Nora Fritz ($1,150); Thomas Huckans ($1,150)
  • Bloomsburg University Greek Alumni Scholarship Fund: awarded at BU Homecoming 2022

Warrior Run School District Funds

  • Bernice A. Bissell Scholarship Fund (Defender Pride Award): Alayna Wilkins ($1,890)
  • Bernice A. Bissell Scholarship Fund (Passions in Pathways Award): Madison Annulli ($1,890); Ethan Carper ($1,890); Jacob Craig ($1,890); Bryanna Harris ($1,890); Emma Kaufman ($1,890); Morgan Lenhart ($1,890); Adelyn Miller ($1,890); Kaitlyn Meule ($1,890); Logan Smedley ($1,890); Avery Soltesz ($1,890)
  • Dale E. Schooley Achievement Award: Wyatt Hoffman ($300); Wyatt Nicholas ($300)
  • Eiderson S. and Phyllis E. Biddle Scholarship Fund: Cadence Gardiner ($1,100)
  • H. William Koch Memorial Scholarship Fund: Nathan Yohn ($1,500)
  • Jack Zeigler Memorial Scholarship Fund: Kelsey Shrawder ($4,500)
  • John E. Corman Scholarship Fund: Nathan McCormack ($2,900)
  • Katharine A. Swope Scholarship Fund: Jayla Felix ($1,600)
  • Linda McNeal Scholarship Fund: Katie Newman ($400)
  • Warrior Run School District Endowment Scholarship Fund (Leadership & Citizenship Award): Kayleigh Bausinger ($4,616); Jason Wood ($4,616)
  • Warrior Run School District Endowment Scholarship Fund (Outstanding Scholar Award): Liam Boyer ($4,616); Katlyn Brady ($4,616)
  • Warrior Run School District Endowment Scholarship Fund (Warrior Run Scholarship Fund Award): Laura Frontz ($4,616); Aliyah Wagner ($4,616)