Selinsgrove Area Community Foundation Awards 2018 Grants

Press Release

April 27, 2018

Selinsgrove - The Selinsgrove Area Community Foundation (SACF) recently awarded $12,500 to local nonprofits during its competitive grantround. The awards were granted through the Selinsgrove Area Community Foundation Fund, the Richard and Anna Mary Wetzel Unrestricted Fund, the Keiser Family Trust Fund, the Gloria Faylor Karchner Charitable Fund, and the Robinson Family Donor Advised Fund.

The SACF focused its funding on organizations that invest in community programs and projects within Selinsgrove and surrounding areas. Those grant recipients include:

  • Central Susquehanna Sight Services, Inc. (CSSS), CSSS 2018/2019 Prevention of Blindness Initiative for Selinsgrove, $750
  • Central Susquehanna Valley Mediation Center, Inc., Selinsgrove Middle School Peer Mediation Program, $1,000
  • Far Point Animal Rescue, Organization Support, $1,000
  • Girls on the Run of Greater Susquehanna Valley, Girls on the Run Financial Assistance Program, $500
  • Greater Susquehanna Valley United Way, GSV United Way Born Learning Trail Selinsgrove, $1,000
  • Regional Engagement Center, Science Technology Engineering Art and Math (S.T.E.A.M.) supplies for Supervised Summer Camp 2018, $1,000
  • Selinsgrove Area Meals on Wheels, Delivering Nutritious Meals for those in Need, $1,000
  • Soroptimist International of Snyder, Union and Northumberland (SUN) Counties, Dream It, Be It: Career Support for Girls, $1,000
  • Summer Seals Day Camp, Summer Seals Day Camp, $1,000
  • Susquehanna River Valley Dental Health Clinic, Project WaveOne, $1,000
  • Susquehanna University Kids' College, Susquehanna University Kids' College, $800
  • Susquehanna Valley CASA - Voices for Children, Technology Improvement Upgrade Project, $400
  • Susquehanna Valley Chorale (SVC), Susquehanna Valley Youth Chorale-CSCF Grant, $500
  • The Arc, Susquehanna Valley, Selinsgrove Area Social & Self-Sufficiency Programs, $500
  • Union-Snyder Community Action Agency, Ride2Learn, $800

The Selinsgrove Area Community Foundation is an affiliate of the Central Susquehanna Community Foundation which helps administer SACF’s grant and scholarship investments. Their mission is helping to meet a multitude of charitable needs of the Selinsgrove area. Nonprofit organizations that provide programming in the Selinsgrove community and surrounding areas are encouraged to apply during the 2019 competitive grantround. Details will be available February 2019 at

The Selinsgrove Area Community Foundation hosted a grantee and fundholder luncheon at Isabella Ristorante on April 27, 2018 to present their grants and celebrate the impact of the SACF.


Pictured above left to right: (front row, sitting): Mary Welker, Birthright of Sunbury, Inc.; Dee Romine, Birthright of Sunbury, Inc.; Tina Castellucci, Birthright of Sunbury, Inc.; Cindy Fritz, Susquehanna Valley CASA; Amy Caron, Susquehanna Valley Youth Chorale; Marlana Flaherty, Far Point Animal Rescue; Kathy Irwin Lentz, SACF Board Member; (back row, standing): Chad Cohrs, SACF Board Member; Scott Smolleek, Selinsgrove Area School District; Ellie Fogarty, Birthright of Sunbury, Inc.; Shelly Stroble, Central Susquehanna Sight Services; Stephanie Reitmeyer, Greater Susquehanna Valley United Way; Kelly Feiler, Regional Engagement Center; Heather Rowe, SACF Board Member; Brianna Apfelbaum Kula, Soroptimist International of Snyder, Union and Northumberland (SUN) Counties; Patricia Pinkowski, SACF Board Member; Michelle Shemory, Susquehanna River Valley Dental Health Clinic; Susan Jordan, Central Susquehanna Valley Mediation Center, Inc.; Dorothy Anderson, Summer Seals Day Camp; Suzanne Auman, Union-Snyder Community Action Agency; Art Montgomery, Selinsgrove Area Meals on Wheels; Michael Flock, SACF Board Member; Phillip Winger, SACF Board Member; Eric Rowe, SACF Board Member

SACF Board Members

Heather H. Rowe, Chair
Michael F. Flock, Vice Chair
Philip E. Winger, Secretary
John L. Stokinger, Treasurer
Chad L. Cohrs
Julie L. Eriksson
Carol L. Handlan
David A. Lawer
Kathryn Irwin Lentz
Patricia Pinkowski
Eric L. Rowe
Donna S. Schuck