Danville Foundation Awards 2019 Scholarships

Press Release

July 30, 2019

Danville, PA - The Danville Area Community Foundation is pleased to announce scholarship awards for local students. These opportunities are available thanks to the many individuals, families and organizations who have established 30 scholarship funds with the Danville Area Community Foundation. Applications for a variety of interests, accomplishments and career choices were accepted from students at the school district. These funds awarded over $92,000 in scholarships to more than 65 Danville graduating seniors. The following students received scholarship awards:

Amacher Family Fund in Memory of Mary Shick Frye: Scott Wintersteen $1,800

Bloch-Selinger Educational Fund: Coleman Cush and Makenna Luzenski $2,362.50 each (multi-year award) and $2,362.50 to six previous graduates.

Carl J. Marrara Memorial Scholarship Fund: Preston Fausnaught $1,000

Cole Family Scholarship Fund: Dean Tice $5,600

Cotner Family Scholarship Fund: Nathaniel Mausteller $2,100

Jack Curry Athletic Scholarship Fund: Shane Kozick $1,200

Danville Area School District Band Boosters Scholarship Fund: Devyn Napp-Barker and Tate Berkey $400 each

Danville Area SD Alumni Association Scholarship Fund: Clara Coombe and Lucas Madison $500 each

Danville Education Association Scholarship Fund “DEA”: Jacquelyn Smith $600

Danville High School Class of 1939 Scholarship Fund: Darren Berry, Peyton Persing, Brooke Weaver, Chloe Reeder, Rorie Bass Foresman and Kimberly Weller $1,000 each

Danville High School Class of 1963 Scholarship Fund: Mikaela Hileman $600

Danville HS Class of ’43 Scholarship Fund: Kaitlin Kovaschetz $500

Danville Rotary Scholarship Fund: Crystal Jones $400

Deutsch Family Memorial Scholarship Fund: Madelyn Smiley $1,800

Donald J. Seebold Scholarship Fund: Owen Metzger and Erin Cope $2,550 each

Danville Unrestricted Fund (In Memory of Eleanor Burke) Scholarship Fund: Tori Strausser $1,000

Ronald J. Kanaskie Leadership Scholarship Fund: Eric Sees $1,000

Gerald J. Levandoski Memorial Scholarship Fund: Cindy Huang $1,200

Jane Hood Memorial Scholarship Fund: Sophia Mucciolo and Alexis Burrell $2,550 each

Ken and Pat Ackerman Family Scholarship Fund: Shane Kozick, Evan Welliver and Zachary Zerbe $1,500 each

Mollie Harter Memorial Fund: Mackenzie Wright $500

Eister Janssen Scholarship Fund: Charles Baker $1,000

Rechsteiner Family Scholarship Fund: Ethan Cera and Ashley Konjura $1,637.50 (multi-year award) and $1,637.50 to six previous graduates

Mackenzie E. Riley Memorial Scholarship Fund: Isaac Smith $600

Roscoe A. Faust and William C. Heller Family Trust: Leo Fulmer and James Zola $2,750 each

The Simington Family Scholarship Fund: Zachary Holdren $1,300

Valeria Walton Woods Memorial Scholarship Fund: Tyler Albertson, Dyson Harward, Elaina Klinger, Reece Lopatka and Rainey Oldfield $660 each

Walter A. “Whitey” and Nan C. McCloskey Memorial Scholarship Fund: Peyton Riley $700

Joanne McCall Spaide Simington and Paul Simington Scholarship Fund: Hunter Kahley $1,550

Stephanie Husek Scholarship Fund: Terezia Galikova and Lee Ann Bryan $3,000 each


Pictured Above: 2019 scholarship recipients and DACF Board members at the on July 29, 2019.

Back row: DACF Board Members: L to R: Greg Cole, Fred Miller, Bonnie Johnson, Randy May, Ken Ackerman, Jean Knouse, Gary Visneski, Bonnie Trump, Linda Brown, Wendy Tripoli, Linda Marks

Front row: Students: L to R: Brooke Weaver, Alexis Burrell, Dean Tice, Bradley Yeich, Nathaniel Mausteller, Charles Baker, Isaac Smith, Martin Klena